By the BestCreditCardCanada.ca editorial team · Published October 17, 2026 · Last updated October 17, 2026

To choose a credit card in Canada, answer one question first: do you pay the balance in full every month? If yes, choose a credit card by what its rewards earn in dollars on your real spending, minus the annual fee. If no, choose the lowest purchase interest rate you can get and ignore rewards. This guide works both answers through four monthly budgets, $800, $1,500, $2,500 and $4,000, on six cards whose terms we read from the issuer pages on October 17, 2026.

The short answer

  • Pay in full, under about $1,100 a month: a no-fee card wins. On an $800 budget the three no-fee cards here land within $5 of each other, and the fee cards lose $24 to $78 a year after the fee.
  • Pay in full, $1,500 a month or more: a $120 fee card earns about $80 more a year than the best no-fee card at $1,500, about $220 more at $2,500 and about $450 more at $4,000.
  • Carry a balance: $4,000 carried for a year costs about $840 at 20.99% and about $560 at 13.99%, and a 0% balance transfer window saves about $590 over nine months. The rate matters more than any rewards rate.
  • Income floor: the $120 to $139 cards ask for $60,000 personal or $100,000 household income; the no-fee cards start at $12,000 to $15,000.
Compare Canadian credit cards →
Woman comparing cards at her laptop to choose a credit card in Canada
Photo by Antoni Shkraba on Pexels

What should you decide before you choose a credit card?

Four things, in this order: whether you carry a balance, where your money goes, what income the issuer asks for, and whether the fee pays for itself in dollars. Everything else on a card page is secondary to those four.

The balance question comes first because it changes which number matters. The Financial Consumer Agency of Canada works the example on its choosing a credit card page: a $4,000 balance carried over a year costs $472 in interest at 21% and $199 on a 9% card with a $50 annual fee. The six rewards cards below charge 20.95% to 21.99% on purchases, so a rewards card used to carry a balance gives back in interest what it earns in cash back, and usually more.

Where the money goes decides the card once you pay in full. Pull three months of statements and total five lines: groceries, gas, recurring bills, restaurants and coffee, and everything else. The three biggest lines are what you are shopping a card for; the rest earns the base rate on any card.

The income floor can end the search early. The Visa Infinite and World Elite cards publish $60,000 personal or $100,000 household minimums; the no-fee cards start at $12,000 to $15,000. There is no point choosing a card you cannot be approved for, and each application is a hard inquiry on your file.

Fee math is done in dollars. The FCAC’s own warning: a card paying 1% cash back with an $85 fee returns $48 on $4,800 of spending, a $37 loss. Every table below shows the net after the fee, not the headline rate.

Which six cards are in the worked examples, and what do they pay?

The six cards below cover the three shapes a Canadian cash back card takes: no fee with a flat or chosen-category rate, no fee with capped bonus categories, and a $120 to $139 fee with high rates on groceries and bills. Every figure was read from the issuer’s own page on October 17, 2026.

CardAnnual feeEarn ratesCapsStated income minimumPurchase rate
Tangerine Money-Back Credit Card$02% in up to 3 categories you choose, 0.5% on everything elseNone; the third 2% category needs the payout sent to a Tangerine savings account$12,00020.95%
BMO CashBack Mastercard$03% groceries, 1% recurring bills, 0.5% everything else3% on the first $500 of groceries and 1% on the first $500 of bills per statementNot stated on the page21.99%
Simplii Financial Cash Back Visa$04% restaurants, bars and coffee shops; 1.5% gas, groceries, drugstore and pre-authorized payments; 0.5% everything else4% on $5,000 a year, 1.5% on $15,000 a year; paid once a year on the January statement$15,000 household21.99%
Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite$120, first year waived on the current offer4% groceries and recurring payments; 2% gas, EV charging, transit, rideshare and food delivery; 1% everything else$25,000 a year of spend on each of the 4% and 2% tiers$60,000 personal or $100,000 household20.99%
CIBC Dividend Visa Infinite$120, first year rebated4% gas, EV charging and groceries; 2% transportation, dining and recurring payments; 1% everything elseNo limit on total cash back$60,000 personal or $100,000 householdNot displayed on the page October 17
TD Cash Back Visa Infinite$139, first year rebated3% groceries, gas and EV charging, transit, recurring bills and streaming; 1% everything elseEach 3% category capped at $15,000 of purchases a year$60,000 personal or $100,000 household21.99%

Three cards from our cashback comparison are not in the tables because their pages did not render on October 17: Neo World Elite Mastercard (5% groceries, $149, $80,000 income), BMO CashBack World Elite Mastercard (5% groceries capped at $500 a month, $139 waived in the first year, $80,000 income) and Rogers Red Mastercard (2% flat for Rogers, Fido and Shaw customers). Their figures as read on October 3 sit on the cashback credit cards comparison, where the calculator runs your own numbers through all ten cards.

Hands holding a card at a laptop while reading issuer terms to choose a credit card
Photo by PNW Production on Pexels

How do you choose a credit card on $800 a month?

On $800 a month, choose a no-fee card; the fee cards lose money here once the first-year waiver ends. The profile: groceries $300, restaurants and coffee $120, transit $80, phone and streaming $70, everything else $230. That is $9,600 a year, on an income of about $24,000.

CardCash back a yearAnnual feeNet after the fee
Simplii Financial Cash Back Visa$143$0$143
BMO CashBack Mastercard$142$0$142
Tangerine Money-Back (groceries, restaurants, transit)$138$0$138
Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite$239$120$119
CIBC Dividend Visa Infinite$236$120$116
TD Cash Back Visa Infinite$204$139$65

Verdict: the three no-fee cards sit within $5 of each other, so choose on the second-order facts. Tangerine has no caps and a $12,000 income floor, which fits a first card; Simplii pays its 4% on coffee and restaurants but only once a year in January; BMO’s 3% stops at $500 of groceries a month, which this budget never reaches. The two Visa Infinite cards would not approve a $24,000 income anyway. If this is your first card, read our secured credit cards guide first if your file is thin.

How do you choose a credit card on $1,500 a month of mixed spending?

At $1,500 a month the $120 fee cards pull ahead by about $80 a year, provided the income floor is met. The profile: groceries $500, gas $150, recurring bills $200, restaurants $150, everything else $500. That is $18,000 a year on an income of about $48,000.

CardCash back a yearAnnual feeNet after the fee
CIBC Dividend Visa Infinite$456$120$336
Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite$450$120$330
Simplii Financial Cash Back Visa$255$0$255
BMO CashBack Mastercard$252$0$252
TD Cash Back Visa Infinite$384$139$245
Tangerine Money-Back (groceries, bills, restaurants)$243$0$243

Verdict: CIBC Dividend at $336 and Scotia Momentum at $330 beat the best no-fee card by about $80 after the $120 fee, and by about $200 in year one while the fee is rebated or waived. The catch is the floor: both ask for $60,000 personal or $100,000 household income, and a $48,000 earner on their own does not clear it. At that income the honest choice is Simplii, BMO or Tangerine, which land within $12 of each other.

Paying for groceries at a checkout terminal, the biggest line when you choose a credit card
Photo by Kampus Production on Pexels

How do you choose a credit card on a $2,500 a month family budget?

At $2,500 a month the fee cards win clearly, by about $220 a year over the best no-fee card. The profile: groceries $800, gas $250, recurring bills $300, restaurants $250, everything else $900. That is $30,000 a year on a $75,000 income, which clears the Visa Infinite floor.

CardCash back a yearAnnual feeNet after the fee
CIBC Dividend Visa Infinite$744$120$624
Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite$726$120$606
TD Cash Back Visa Infinite$624$139$485
Simplii Financial Cash Back Visa$405$0$405
Tangerine Money-Back (groceries, bills, restaurants)$393$0$393
BMO CashBack Mastercard$318$0$318

Verdict: CIBC Dividend edges Scotia Momentum because its 4% covers gas as well as groceries, while Scotia’s 4% covers bills instead; on this mix the $250 of gas is worth slightly more than the $300 of bills. Either card is the right choice, and the difference between them is $18 a year. The BMO no-fee card falls to last because its 3% stops at $500 of groceries a month and this family spends $800.

How do you choose a credit card for a heavy grocery household at $4,000 a month?

At $4,000 a month with $1,400 of groceries, the two 4% cards clear $1,050 a year after the fee, and a 5% grocery card can do better still. The profile: groceries $1,400, gas $300, recurring bills $400, restaurants $300, transit $100, everything else $1,500. That is $48,000 a year on a $130,000 household income.

CardCash back a yearAnnual feeNet after the fee
CIBC Dividend Visa Infinite$1,188$120$1,068
Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite$1,176$120$1,056
TD Cash Back Visa Infinite$972$139$833
Tangerine Money-Back (groceries, bills, restaurants)$618$0$618
Simplii Financial Cash Back Visa$516$0$516
BMO CashBack Mastercard$414$0$414

Verdict: CIBC and Scotia are within $12 of each other, and neither hits a cap: Scotia’s $25,000 tier limit is above this household’s $21,600 of groceries and bills. The card to check next is the Neo World Elite Mastercard. On the figures we read on October 3 for the cashback comparison (5% groceries, 4% recurring, 3% gas, 1% everything else, $149 fee, no caps published), this household would net about $1,219, roughly $150 more than CIBC. Neo’s page did not render on October 17, so confirm those rates on the issuer page before you apply; the $80,000 income floor applies.

Couple paying a restaurant bill on a card terminal, a 2% to 4% category on some cards
Photo by Yan Krukau on Pexels
Run your own numbers on the cashback calculator →

Does the annual fee pay for itself?

When you choose a credit card on these four budgets, the $120 fee pays for itself from about $1,100 a month of spending, as long as groceries and bills are the big lines. The table lines up the best no-fee card against the best fee card at each budget, net of the standing fee.

Monthly spendingBest no-fee card, netBest fee card, netFee card advantage
$800Simplii, $143Scotia Momentum, $119Minus $24
$1,500Simplii, $255CIBC Dividend, $336Plus $81
$2,500Simplii, $405CIBC Dividend, $624Plus $219
$4,000Tangerine, $618CIBC Dividend, $1,068Plus $450

Two cautions on the fee. First, the first-year waiver or rebate on the Scotia, CIBC and TD cards adds $120 to $139 to year one, so a card that looks $100 ahead in year one can be $20 behind from year two; choose on the year-two number. Second, the mix matters more than the total. A $2,500 budget with $300 of groceries and $1,600 of everything else earns 1% on most of it on any fee card, and the no-fee cards close the gap. Run your own lines through the calculator on the cashback comparison before you decide.

Will you be approved? The income floors and the credit check

Issuers publish income minimums, not score minimums, and the floor is the first filter when you choose a credit card. The figures below are the stated minimums on each card’s page on October 17, 2026.

CardStated income minimum
Tangerine Money-Back Credit Card$12,000 gross annual income
Simplii Financial Cash Back Visa$15,000 household income
BMO CashBack MastercardNot stated on the page; the page says only that income requirements apply
Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite$60,000 personal or $100,000 household
CIBC Dividend Visa Infinite$60,000 personal or $100,000 household
TD Cash Back Visa Infinite$60,000 personal or $100,000 household
Scotiabank Value Visa (low rate)Not stated; the application asks for job, yearly income and address

The FCAC’s advice before any application is to pull your own report from Equifax and TransUnion, Canada’s two bureaus, and fix errors first. Our guide to the credit score needed for a credit card covers what each tier of card expects, and if you have already been turned down, credit card application declined walks through the reasons and the wait before reapplying. A thin or damaged file starts with a secured credit card and moves up after a year of on-time payments.

Man checking an application on his phone with his card in hand
Photo by Cup of Couple on Pexels

What if you carry a balance?

If you carry a balance most months, the purchase rate is the number to choose on, and a balance transfer window is worth more than a year of rewards. The Scotiabank Value Visa, read October 17, charges 13.99% on purchases and cash advances with a $29 annual fee (waived in the first year), and offers 0% on balance transfers for 9 months with a 1% transfer fee ($5 minimum) on accounts opened between July 2, 2026 and January 3, 2027.

The math on a $4,000 balance: carried for a full year, it costs about $840 at 20.99% and about $560 at 13.99%, a $280 difference. Moved to the 0% window, the same $4,000 costs the $40 transfer fee instead of about $630 of interest over nine months at 20.99%, a saving of about $590. No cash back rate on a $1,500 budget earns that.

Two FCAC rules to keep in view. Introductory low rates usually last 6 to 12 months and then rise, and the issuer can end the low rate early if you pay late or go over your limit. The plan is to clear the balance inside the window, then move the everyday spending to a rewards card once the balance is gone. A card used as a lump-sum borrowing tool is the most expensive version of itself; the compare credit cards page covers the card-or-not decision.

What do foreign purchases and the other fees add?

Foreign currency conversion costs 2.5% on most Canadian cards, and it is charged on top of the exchange rate. Tangerine lists its fee at 2.50%; the FCAC’s worked example on how credit cards work uses the same 2.5%. On $3,000 a year of US or online purchases in another currency, that is $75, more than half of what the $800 budget earns in cash back. The Scotia, CIBC, Simplii and TD pages did not display their conversion fee on October 17, so ask before you apply if you shop across the border.

The rest of the fee list, from the FCAC: a minimum 21-day interest-free grace period on purchases at federally regulated issuers, no grace period on cash advances (22.95% at Tangerine, 22.99% at Scotia and Simplii), merchant surcharges of up to 2.4% that must be disclosed before you pay (not permitted in Quebec), and the smaller fees for over-limit, dishonoured payments, inactive accounts and statement reprints. Once a card is in your wallet, our guide to the CPC SCP charge decodes the statement line Canadians search for most.

Toronto skyline in autumn; federal credit card rules apply in every province
Photo by alex ohan on Pexels

How do you choose a credit card in five steps?

  1. Answer the balance question honestly. If you carried a balance in two of the last six months, go to the low-rate section above and stop reading about rewards.
  2. Total five spending lines from three months of statements. Groceries, gas, recurring bills, restaurants and coffee, everything else. Divide by three for the monthly figure.
  3. Cross off every card whose income floor you do not meet. Under $60,000 personal and $100,000 household, the Visa Infinite and World Elite cards are off the list.
  4. Run the dollars, net of the standing fee. Use the four tables above as a guide, then put your own lines through the calculator on the cashback comparison. Judge on the year-two number, not the welcome offer.
  5. Apply once, to one card. Every application is a hard inquiry. Choose a credit card you can be approved for today, and revisit in a year when your spending or income has changed.

Where to compare and apply

Our comparison pages carry the verified figures and the application form, so you can choose a credit card and apply in one place. Start with the best no annual fee credit cards if your budget is under $1,100 a month or your income is under $60,000, the cashback credit cards comparison with its calculator if you spend more, and the full credit card comparison if you want every category side by side. If you are replacing a card you no longer want, how to cancel a credit card shows how to close the old one without hurting your file.

Tapping a card on a terminal beside a coffee, the everyday test of the card you choose
Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Pexels
Check your card options →

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I choose a credit card for the first time?

Choose a no-fee card with a low income floor and no caps you will hit: Tangerine Money-Back asks for $12,000 of income and Simplii for $15,000 of household income. If you have no credit history at all, a secured card for a year first is the surer route, then move up. Keep it to one card and pay it in full.

Is it worth it to choose a credit card with an annual fee?

From about $1,100 a month of spending with groceries and bills as the big lines, yes. On our $1,500 budget the CIBC Dividend Visa Infinite nets $336 after its $120 fee against $255 for the best no-fee card; on the $800 budget the fee cards lose $24 to $78 a year once the first-year waiver ends.

Which credit card is best for groceries in Canada?

On the pages read October 17, CIBC Dividend Visa Infinite and Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite pay 4% on groceries with a $120 fee and a $60,000 income floor. Among no-fee cards BMO CashBack pays 3% on the first $500 a month. The 5% grocery cards, Neo World Elite and BMO CashBack World Elite, ask for $80,000 of income and are compared on our cashback page.

Should I choose cash back or points?

On budgets under about $4,000 a month, cash back. The dollar value of cash back is printed on the issuer page, which is why every table in this guide can show a net figure. Points cards can beat it, but only at spending levels and travel habits most households do not have, and their value depends on how you redeem.

What credit score do I need to choose a card?

Issuers publish income floors rather than score floors, so the honest answer is the income table above plus a clean recent file. Our credit score guide covers the tiers; a declined application is a hard inquiry with nothing to show for it, so apply for the card that fits your file today.

How many credit cards should I apply for?

One. Each application is a hard inquiry at Equifax or TransUnion, and several in a short period read as risk to the next issuer. Choose a credit card from the tables, apply once, and revisit the choice after a year of on-time payments.

What if I carry a balance only some months?

Price it. A $4,000 balance carried for a year costs about $840 at 20.99% and about $560 at 13.99%, and moved to a 0% transfer window for nine months it costs the 1% fee, about $40. If the balance is a one-off, clear it inside a transfer window and keep the rewards card; if it is a habit, the low-rate card is the right card.

Should the welcome offer decide which card I choose?

No. Treat it as year-one money and choose on the year-two number. On October 17 Tangerine offered 10% back for 2 months up to $100 (apply by November 30, 2026) and Scotia 15% back for 3 months on up to $2,000 of spending (open by November 1, 2026); both are real, both end, and the fee and rates stay.

About Our Editorial Team

The BestCreditCardCanada.ca editorial team writes and updates the comparisons on this site. We read every rate, fee, cap and income floor from the issuer’s own page on the day we publish, work the math in dollars on real budgets, and check the rules against the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada. How we review cards →

Figures read from issuer pages on October 17, 2026 and from the FCAC pages dated October 15, 2025. Issuer terms change without notice; the written terms you receive at application govern. This page is information, not financial advice. BestCreditCardCanada.ca may be paid when you apply through our comparison pages; see our advertiser disclosure.